National Association of Athletics Administrations of Trinidad and Tobago

naaatt :: media_artricles :: 2019


Ahye lands sprint beaver-trick

Trinidad Guardian :: 28.07.2019

Michelle-Lee Ahye continued her winning ways when she recorded her fourth consecutive title in the women's 100 metres event at the NGC/NAAATT Open Track and Field Championship at the Hasely Crawford Stadium, Mucurapo on Saturday.

The Rebirth runner charging from lane 4, the reigning Commonwealth Games 100 metres champion cruised to victory in the time of 11.18 seconds. Following her home was Kellyann Baptiste of Zenith Athletic Club and Kamaria Durant of Simplex Athletic Club. Baptiste clocked 11.22 second with Durant 11.30 third in 11.30 seconds.

Ahye, 27, has the winningest record among women having won the accolade in 2016, 2017, 2018 and now 2019. On Friday night in the fourth round of the preliminary round heat Ahye cruised home in 11.22 seconds and continued her domination in the semi-final with a clocking of 11.24second. 

Keston Bledman, the defending champion in the men's equivalent was drawn in the sixth heat at the preliminary stage and recorded a comfortable victory. 

The title run include Kyle Greaux, Emmanuel Callender, Rondell Sorrillo Jerod Elcock Akannia Hislop and Commonwealth Games 200 metres champion, Jereem Richards.

Though, Kyle Greaux who showed his intention of winning the title as the fastest man in T&T with the fastest time of 10.26 seconds in Friday run. 

However, 24 hours later he could not reproduce that effort to deny five-time National champion Bledman of Simplex, who registered the time of 10.20 seconds en route to winning the championship event. 

Jereem Richards of Abilene Wildcats closed fast at the end for second with Rondell Sorrillo of La Brea Athletics next in third place as both runners were given the same time of 10.23 seconds.

Machel Cedeno of Simplex looked imperious in the men's 400 metres opening round. The 2016 Olympic finalist was easy throughout and looked around for non-existent danger in the final 100 metres. He eased to the line in 46.31 seconds. Last evening he blazed up the back-straight to put the issue to bed. Coming off the corner it was one-way traffic as Cedenio powered clear by some 15 metres to be an impressive winner of the one-lap event. Cedenio recorded the time of 44.52 seconds. 

Dwight St Hillaire of Kaizen Panthers got the silver medal for his time of 46.08 seconds with Darren Alfred also of Kaizen Panthers in third with his time of 46.63 seconds.

Kenyan Alex Akesa returned a time of 32 minutes, 48.02 seconds for victory in the men's 10,000 metres event. T&T's Nigel Simon was second in the time of 38 minutes, 45.72 seconds.

Diamond Thomas was the class act in the Women's Hammer event, as she registered the distance of 46.78 metres for the gold medal. Gabriel Guerra took the Men's Hammer to throw gold with a throw of 34.45 metres. 

Former World 400 metres Champion Jehue Gordon will be setting his sight on winning the men's 400 title which he won in 2018.

Gordon the reigning national champion will attempt to continue his winning ways today. 

Andwuelle Wright of Kaizen Panthers defended his long jump title with aplomb as he soared to a distance of 7.70 metres to land the gold medal. Che Richards of Oasic Athletic Club was second with his leap of 7.60 metres. Kelsey Daniel was third with his jump of 7.32 metres.

Meanwhile, former Olympic gold medallist Keshorn Walcott, the reigning national champion failed to retain his title in the men's Javelin event after being disqualified while he was in the lead with a throw of 79.98 metres.

After the disqualification Shakeil Waithe of Zenith was first with his throw of 78.97 metres. Junior Champion and Pam Junior Third Tyriq Horsford of Zenith Athletic Club was second with his effort of 71.67 metres. 


Women 100m: 

1st. Michelle Lee Ahye (Rebirth) 11.18; 2nd: Kelly Ann Baptiste(Zenith) 11:22; 3rd: Kamaria Durant (Simplex) 11:30

Men 100m: 

1st. Keston Bledman (simplex) 10.20; 2nd: Jereem Richards (Abilene Wildcats)10:23; 3rd: Rondell Sorrillo (La Brea Athletics) 10:23

Men 400m: Machel Cedenio 44.52; 2nd: Dwight St Hillaire 46.08; 3rd: Darren Alfred 46.63 

Women: Rae Anne Serville (Memphis Pioneers) 53.57; 2nd: Samantha Dirks (Belize (53.88); 3rd: Sade Sealy (Bar ) 55.29.

Men 10,000m: 1st: Alex Akesa 32:48.02; 2nd; Nigel Simon 38:45.72

WOMEN HAMMER THROW: 1st: Diamond Thomas 46.78m

Men HAMMER THROW: Gabriel Guerra 34.45M

Men LONG JUMP: 1st. Andwuelle Wright 7:70M; 2nd Che Richards 7:60m ; 3rd. Kelsey Daniel 7:32M


Ahye lands sprint beaver-trick
Enlarge Image

Reigning national 100 metres champion Keston Bledman after he made a successful defence of his title at the NGC/NAAATT Senior National Track and Field Championships at the Hasely Crawford Stadium, Mucurapo, yesterday. © ANTHONY HARRIS

Ahye lands sprint beaver-trick
Enlarge Image

Gabrielle-Alexis the 2019 Women's Hammer Throw 4kg champion NGC/NAAATT Open Track and Field Championships at the Hasely Crawford Stadium, Mucurapo on Friday night.

Guardian Media

Close Window