National Association of Athletics Administrations of Trinidad and Tobago

naaatt :: media_artricles :: 2019


Horsford, Joseph set to repeat

Kwame Laurence :: Trinidad Express :: 19.04.2019

Veayon Joseph and Mississippi State University freshman Tyriq Horsford are set to successfully defend their javelin titles at the 2019 Carifta Games in the Cayman Islands.

"Tyriq is very much on course for his fifth straight title," National Association of Athletics Administrations (NAAA) president Ephraim Serrette told the Express, yesterday. "He was named Southeastern Conference (SEC) Freshman of the Week for his 70.95 metres personal best. I don't think anybody at Carifta is in that region."

Horsford is a three-time Carifta Games boys' under-18 javelin champion. And in 2018, his first year in the under-20 age-group, the Tobago thrower triumphed for a Carifta beaver-trick. Horsford is tipped to win his fifth title on the trot at the 2019 edition of the regional junior championships.

Joseph was golden in last year's boys' under-17 javelin, and will bid for a second straight trip to the top of the podium.

"Veayon is on course to repeat in the under-17 age-group," said Serrette.

A team of 57 will represent Trinidad and Tobago at the Games, and the NAAA president expects the young athletes to improve on last year's haul of four gold medals, six silver and seven bronze.

"I am very confident in the team. We're looking to step up both in terms of total medals and gold medals. Based on the performance listing, there are opportunities for people to medal. But no names are written on those medals, so we have to go out there and earn them."

Competition at Carifta 2019 starts tomorrow and concludes on Monday. Team T&T will leave for the Cayman Islands this morning on a chartered flight.


Girls' Under-17

Shaniqua Bascombe (100m, 200m, 4x100m), Taejha Badal (100m, 200m, 4x100m, 4x400m), Natasha Fox (400m, 4x400m), Malika Coutain (400m, 4x400m), Karessa Kirton (100m h, 4x100m), Xea Bruce (400m h, 4x400m), Amber Mayhew (triple jump), Shakera Kirk (discus), Lalenii Grant (discus), Brianna Percy (shot put), Reneisha Andrews (4x100m), Kyah La Fortune (4x100m), Christie Marie Maharaj (4x400m), Atiya Croal (4x400m)

Girls' Under-20

Ayla Stanisclaus (100m, 200m, 4x100m), Akilah Lewis (100m, 200m, 4x100m), Rae-Anne Serville (400m, 800m, 4x400m), Tamia Badal (100m h, 400m h, 4x100m), Safiya John (100m hurdles, heptathlon, 4x400m), Jayda Williams (long jump), Caitlin Ragoonanan (long jump, 4x400m), Elizabeth Galera (discus), Ianna Roach (shot put), Antonia Sealy (javelin), Kymoi Noray (javelin), Leah Bernard (4x100m), Naomi Campbell (4x100m), Tatiana Martinez (4x400m), Nicola Pesnell (4x400m)

Boys' Under-17

Devin Augustine (100m, 200m, 4x100m), Shakeem McKay (100, 200m, 4x100m, 4x400m), Jordan Pope (400m, 4x400m), Jessiah Jones (400m, 4x400m), Ryan Campbell (800m, 4x400m), Troy Llanos (3000), Rinaldo Moore (110m h, 400m hurdles, 4x100m, 4x400m), Miguel Taylor (long jump, 4x100m), Jayden Scott (discus, shot put), Tyrese Murray (discus), Veayon Joseph (javelin), Anthony Diaz (javelin, 4x100m, 4x400m)

Boys' Under-20

Kion Benjamin (100m, 4x100m), Adell Colthrust (100m, 200m, 4x100m), Avindale Smith (200m, 4x100m), Nicholas Wilson (400m), Genesis Joseph (1500, 5000m), Justin Guy (110m hurdles, 4x100m), Tyrese Rawlins (110m hurdles, 4x100m), Kelsey Daniel (triple jump, long jump), Jaydon Antoine (long jump), Joel Andrews (pole vault), Christopher Crawford (discus, shot put), Tyriq Horsford (javelin), Selvon Rochford (javelin), Anson Moses (octathlon), Che Rochford (octathlon), Dominic Cole (4x100m)


Get caught up with news from the news leader
Subscribe now and get access to the Trinidad Express E-paper

Manager - Lucretia Burns

Assistant manager - Ronnell Barclay

Head coach - Nadine Hamid

Sprint & relay coaches - Kelvin Nancoo, Althea Busby, Antonia Burton, Eric Mc Cree

Throws coach - Ismael Lopez Mastrapa

Jumps coach - Wendell Williams

Middle and long distance coach - Jamaal James

Multi-events coaches - Reynold Porter Lee, Arlon Morrison

Medical team - Dr Anyl Gopeesingh, Ruel Rigsby, Kurlyn Smith Nicholas, Anthony Walcott, Dexter Thomas


Horsford, Joseph set to repeat
Enlarge Image


Trinidad Express

Close Window